Pawshake logo
Karen

Vet Tech-turned-college Student

Singapore
7 times favorited
Last contacted 10 days ago
Last active 10 days ago
Usually responds within one hour
<1h
Response time
100%
Response rate
Dog walking
Min. 30-minute walks
5 SGD for each additional pet
15 SGD
/walk
All services and rates

About Karen

PLEASE READ BEFORE MAKING ANY ENQUIRIES/BOOKINGS

  • Services I offer: ONE home visit OR

dogwalking per day around the late afternoon/evening time ONLY

  • I NO LONGER offer two home visits per day due to my updated schedule
  • I would appreciate if you can include specific details of your petsitting needs in your message/enquiry
  • If you are unsure of which option to select, feel free to drop me a message with details pertaining to your petsitting
  • needs and I will be more than happy to help you out. :)

    -------------------------------

    ADDITIONAL INFO ON MY PETWALKING

    SERVICES

    • "Dogwalking" charge of $15 is ONLY applicable to pets that are located 10 - 15 minute walk away from my home in BISHAN and require petwalking services under 45 minutes.
    • Those who live further away (ie. in Marymount, Lorong Chuan, Braddell, Toa Payoh, AMK etc.) will be subjected to additional $5 charge.
    • The petwalking

    service STRICTLY covers the SOLE duty of walking your pet and picking up its poop in public. Feeding, replacing soiled litter/newspapers/pee pads, and any other home visit duties are

    NOT included under the petwalking service option that I offer.

  • This option is suitable for pet owners who are healing from physical injuries that may hinder them from walking their pets, are unable to spare the time to take their pets out
  • as much as they would like, or have a family member or co-tenant who can manage petsitting needs within the household but is not comfortable taking the pet out for a walk etc.

  • This option is NOT RECOMMENDED for pet owners who are travelling abroad and do not have anyone at home to tend to the pet's needs beyond walking. If you fall into this category, please consider opting for my home visit service instead.
  • Kindly inform me
  • about your preferences and your pet's preferences regarding walks (ie. a specific route, keep children/other animals/everyone away from pet).

  • Regardless of how gentle and well-behaved your pet is,
  • petwalking

    services will only be available if a leash is provided by the pet owner. Pet owners are required by the Singapore law to leash their dogs in public and the maximum fine for not doing so is SGD5,000. A muzzle should also be provided if your dog is of a breed that is specified in AVA's Second Schedule of the Animals and Birds (Dog Licensing and Control) Rules. The maximum fine for not doing so is SGD5,000 for the first

    offence, and a fine not exceeding SGD10,000 for the second or subsequent conviction.-------------------------------

    ADDITIONAL INFO ON MY HOME VISIT SERVICES

    On average, I spend around 1-2 hours at your home per visit for one or two pets regardless

    of where they are located. However, I do prefer accepting home visits that are in or close to Bishan.

    If you would like to opt for the "one home visit per day" option and have three or four pets, please select the "two home visits per day" option. The extra charge is to account for the extra 1-2 hours that I spend at your home to perform the petsitting duties. If you have under three pets but require me to perform elaborate petsitting duties that would take more than 2 hours, please select this option.

    In addition to typical petsitting needs (eg. feeding, replacing soiled litter/newspapers/pee pads), I can also do the following at no extra charge:

    • send you a few pictures and/or videos of your pet(s) via Whatsapp if home wi-fi access is provided by pet owner
    • keep you updated on the well-being of your pet(s) (eg. if pet is eating/drinking/excreting daily, general mood of your pet, any abnormalities

    in behaviour/habits)

    if home wi-fi access is provided by

    pet

    owner

  • entertain your pet by talking, playing, stroking, brushing fur, and/or offering treats if toys, brush and/or treats are provided by pet owner (subject to pet(s)' mood)
  • take your pet out for a walk that lasts a maximum of 45 minutes if leash is provided (longer walks are subjected to additional charges, please refer to section above for more info on walks)
  • take your pet(s) to your nearest/preferred veterinary clinic for any necessary check-ups or vaccinations, or even a pet grooming salon, if you are able to cover the transportation cost and the veterinary/grooming bill, on top of my petsitting charges (upon pet owner's request only)
  • administer any oral/topical medicine to your pet as prescribed by your pet's veterinarian (upon pet owner's request only, subject to pet(s)' personality and healthcare needs)
  • water a few potted house plants (upon pet owner's request only)
  • If you prefer for me not to do any of the above actions, feel free to let me know. If you have any other special requests that are not listed above, feel free to let me know as well and we can discuss.

    -------------------------------

    PETSITTER BIO

    I am currently a Master's student at NTU with a relatively flexible schedule. Hence, I am able to help pet owners out and have the opportunity to meet new furry friends! (: I have always loved animals and I graduated from Temasek Polytechnic in 2013 with a Diploma in Veterinary Technology after studying the course for three years. I guess I am also an amateur pet photographer of sorts as I enjoy taking photographs of animals with my phone.

    Although I am unable to house any pets at my place, I am more than happy to drop by your place to take care of your pets' needs. It may seem like more of an inconvenience for me to do so but I believe such arrangements are more beneficial for the pets, especially cats, as they can be easily-stressed in new environments and it would be easier for them to cope with a stranger (aka me, the petsitter) in their own familiar environment than in a completely new and unfamiliar territory.

    Contrary to my profile pictures, I will not force my affections on an animal or insist on carrying/picking it up if it does not like it. As much as I love animals, I am not starved for affection from animals and I am more than happy to give it space if a pet prefers to be left alone.

    Karen's services

    At your home

    Dog Walking
    Find a reliable dog walker
    5 SGD for each additional pet
    15 SGD
    /walk
    Home Visits
    Book a sitter to visit your home to feed and play with your pets
    45 SGD for two visits a day
    25 SGD
    /day

    Cancellation policy: Flexible

    Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

    Reviews

    Communication
    Conscientious
    Profile accuracy
    Treatment of animals
    Value
    Home Visits
    Erza, 2019-06-18

    Karen was extremely professional and responsible with handling Anggun. She took good care of Anggun and also our house when we were away! Definitely a trustworthy and caring pet-sitter.

    Home Visits
    Mai, 2019-05-12

    Karen is very professional and heartwarming. Throughout our vacation of nearly 2 weeks, she cared our cats everyday and sent us lovely updates with photos and videos. We always felt relieved seeing them relaxed through the updates, and there wasn’t any issue raised during the period.

    We would also like to thank Karen for giving fluid injections smoothly for one of our cats, who needs it on a regular basis.

    Again, thank you Karen, we will definitely come back to you next time.

    とても素晴らしい方です。週二回の輸液もやっていただきとても助かりました。ありがとうございます😊

    Availability

    July 2019
    Su
    Mo
    Tu
    We
    Th
    Fr
    Sa
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31
    August 2019
    Su
    Mo
    Tu
    We
    Th
    Fr
    Sa
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31
    Available
    Unavailable

    Skills

    Specific Skills

    I speak English & Chinese
    < 5 years of experience

    My three-year Diploma in Veterinary Technology course at Temasek Polytechnic has equipped me with the necessary skills to be a competent veterinary nurse, NOT a veterinarian. I have done internships at two local veterinary clinics while I was studying for my diploma and also did an internship overseas on an Australian alpaca farm. I have petsitting experience that involved walking and putting diapers on a geriatric dog with incontinence and grumpiness that comes with old age as well as a young dog with stubborn dermatitis and fungal infections that required both topical and oral medications three times a day. I have also experience with administering sub-cutaneous fluids to pets with kidney issues.

    Can Administer

    Oral medications
    First aid and CPR for pets
    Injected medications

    Experience with

    Animal welfare as a volunteer
    Rescuing pets

    Stats

    <1h
    Response time
    100%
    Response rate
    1w ago
    Last activity
    SMS
    Verified
    Email
    Verified
    Karen

    Karen

    Vet Tech-turned-college Student

    Singapore
    Dog walking
    Min. 30-minute walks
    5 SGD for each additional pet
    15 SGD
    /walk
    All services and rates
    Contact Karen

    Cancellation policy: Flexible

    Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

    Book via Pawshake to enjoy The Pawshake Guarantee, 24/7 support, booking guarantee, safe cashless payments, daily updates and more!

    Contact Karen